Chairman: Larry C. Inman
Workforce Development

Board Chairman: David R. Adams

CEO: Elaine Wood

MEDIA ADVISORY June 19, 2012

Media Contact: Dan Boss

Program Publicity Specialist Voice: (231) 929-5047

Email: danboss@nwm.cog.mi.us

New Partnership Established to Assist Agriculture Businesses in Northwest Michigan

Partnership Details to be Announced at a Press Conference
June 25 at Black Star Farms

Monday, June 25, 2012

Where: Black Star Farms

10844 E. Revold Road, Suttons Bay, Michigan

When: Press conference starts at 1:30 p.m.

Who: MSU-Extension and the MSU Product Center, the Northwest Michigan Council of

Governments, the Michigan Small Business & Technology Development Center, and the Northern Lakes Economic Alliance will each have representatives there to answer questions

about the new partnership.

The press conference will cover information about the new Northwest Michigan Regional Agriculture Business Services Partnership. The partnership will make it easier for farmers and other agriculture businesses to access a variety of assistance programs.

#

Images are oftentimes available upon request by e-mailing Tom White at tomwhite@nwm.com.mi.us and stating preferences for resolution (300 dpi?), file format (.tif? .jpg?) and file size (1MB or less?). Or, phone (231) 929-5044. Check our online Media Room at: .nwm.org/media

The Northwest Michigan Council of Governments, founded in 1973, facilitates and manages services and programs for 10 counties in the region. These programs include Regional Planning and Community



Chairman: Larry C. Inman
Workforce Development

Board Chairman: David R. Adams

CEO: Elaine Wood

Development, Northwest Michigan Sustainable Business Forum, Northwest Michigan Works, Workforce Development Board, Michigan Small Business and Technology Development Center Region 2, Hospitality Skills Alliance, the Procurement Technical Assistance Center program, KAL-TEC, Healthcare Skills Alliance of Northwest Michigan, and the Regional Repository for US Census data.

Some services of NWMCOG are in direct support of the counties, some are independent services provided to the public and businesses at large. NWMCOG is able to leverage several collaborative partnerships to extend limited resources and provide economies of scale for projects that operate on a regional basis. NWMCOG's member counties are: Antrim, Benzie, Charlevoix, Emmet, Grand Traverse, Kalkaska, Leelanau, Manistee, Missaukee, and Wexford.