Networks Northwest -Northwest Michigan Council of Governments Monday February 13, 2017

MEETING MINUTES

Roll Call

<u>Present:</u> Ed Boettcher, Antrim County; Coury Carland, Benzie County; Chris Christensen, Charlevoix County, Tom Mair, GT County; Stuart McKinnon, Kalkaska County; Ty Wessell, Leelanau County; Richard Schmidt, Manistee County; Dean Smallegan, Missaukee County.

Absent: John Stakoe, Emmet County; Les Housler, Wexford County.

Staff present: Elaine Wood, Matt McCauley, Denise Culman, Mike Woods, Terry Vandercook.

Guests present: Gary Fedus, WDB and Networks Northwest Board Chair.

Call to Order and Introductions

Chris Christensen, Chair, called the meeting to order at 4:00pm, and asked for introductions around the room.

Public Comment

Commissioner Mair said that Grand Traverse County will be holding a selection process for a new County Administrator and asked the other commissioners to keep it in mind as they are seeing candidates for other positions.

No other public comment.

Election of Officers for 2017

Elaine asked for nominations for 2017 board chair, which is the position that becomes the Chief Elected Official for Networks Northwest.

Chair:

Motion by R. Schmidt, supported by D. Smallegan, to nominate Chris Christensen for NWMCOG Board Chair. There were no other nominations. Motion passed unanimously.

Vice Chair:

Motion by T. Wessell, supported by R. Schmidt, to nominate Corey Carland for NWMCOG Board Vice Chair. There were no other nominations. Motion passed unanimously.

Road condition report

M. McCauley introduced the strategic discussion topic: transportation. M. Woods gave a summary presentation on how the various funding streams for transportation come into the region and the roles played by Networks Northwest for each. He also provided the annual road conditions report that was conducted by him along with each county road commission. He explained that the full report would be presented at the Networks Northwest Board meeting. He presented each commissioner with the road rating map for his county.

County round-table

C. Christensen asked commissioners what the three main issues are in each of their counties. Considerable discussion took place. Commissioners also informally discussed various county-related subjects and provided updates on various things happening in their counties.

Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned by consensus at 5:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Denise Culman

Denise Culman, Recording Secretary

Misculto Sign In Sheet Council of Governments Board Misculto I. Boettcher, Ed Antrim County E 2. Carland, Coury Benzie County Charlevoix County						
	×	1.	Boettcher, Ed	Antrim County		
all'our	×	2.	Carland, Coury	Benzie County		
	×	3.	Christensen, Chris	Charlevoix County		
		4.	Stakoe, John	Emmet County		
	×	5.	Mair, Tom	Gr. Traverse County		
	×	6.	McKinnon, Stuart	Kalkaska County		
	×	7.	Wessell, Ty	Leelanau County		
	×	8.	Schmidt, Richard	Manistee County		
	×	9.	Smallegan, Dean	Missaukee County		
		10.	Housler, Les	Wexford County		



#	Name	Organization
1	Gary Fedus	Networks Northwest Board Chair
2	Elaine Wood	Networks Northwest
3	Matt McCauley	Networks Northwest
4	Denise Culman	Networks Northwest
5	Mike Woods	Networks Northwest
6	Terry Vandercook	Networks Northwest
7		
8		
9		
10		
11		
12		