Networks Northwest Board – Board Membership – January 2015

Networks Northwest Board – County Commission Members

The NWMCOG Board members, comprised of one commissioner from each county, are automatically members of the Networks Northwest Board. They are appointed by their individual county board chairs and serve one-year terms.

Seat	Name/Position	Term Ending
Counties – NWMCOG Board		
Antrim Co.	Mike Crawford, Antrim County Commissioner	12/31/15
Benzie Co.	Coury Carland, Benzie County Commissioner	12/31/15
Charlevoix Co.	Chris Christensen, Charlevoix County Commissioner	12/31/15
Emmet Co.	Jim Tamlyn, Emmet County Commissioner	12/31/15
Kalkaska Co.	Stuart McKinnon, Kalkaska County Commissioner	12/31/15
Grand Traverse Co.	Christine Maxbauer, Gr. Traverse County Commissioner	12/31/15
Leelanau Co.	Ty Wessell, Leelanau County Commissioner	12/31/15
Manistee Co.	Richard Schmidt, Manistee County Commissioner	12/31/15
Missaukee Co.	Susan Rogers, Missaukee County Commissioner	12/31/15
Wexford Co.	Les Housler, Wexford County Commissioner	12/31/15

Networks Northwest Board – WDB Members

The Workforce Development Board private sector members are nominated by general purpose business organizations and are then appointed by the county boards. Other members are nominated by their respective groups and are then appointed by the NWMCOG Board.

All WDB members serve for two-year terms.

WDB seats are mandated by federal law.

Seat	Name/Position	Term Ending
Business		
Antrim Co. Business	Jim Barnard, Owner, Barnard Engineering	12/31/16
Antrim Co. Business	Paul Hresko, Human Resources Director, Armor Express	12/31/16
Benzie Co. Business	Betty Workman, Owner, Vacation Trailer Park & Sales	12/31/16
Benzie Co. Business	Art Jeannot, Owner, Jeannot Development Co.	12/31/15
Charlevoix Co. Business	Jane Korthase, Human Resources Director, Grandvue Medicare Care	12/31/15
Charlevoix Co. Business	Amanda Haworth, Human Resources Director, Boyne Resorts	12/31/15

Emmet Co. Business	Gene Kaminski, VO for Human Resources, McLaren Northern Michigan Hospital	12/31/15
Emmet Co. Business	Gary Fedus, President & CEO, Mitchell Graphics	12/31/15
Grand Traverse Business	Sue Peters, VP for Human Resources, Munson Healthcare System	12/31/15
Grand Traverse Business	Ken Osborne, Vice President, Boride Engineered Abrasives	12/31/15
Kalkaska Co. Business	Tracey Peal, Vice President, Hague Equipment	12/31/16
Kalkaska Co. Business	Vacant (nomination pending)	12/31/16
Leelanau Co. Business	Joe Williams, Owner, President, Williams Pumping Service	12/31/16
Leelanau Co. Business	Tom Barrons, Owner/Partner, Byte Productions	12/31/15
Manistee Co. Business	Doug Parkes, Co-Owner, Kellie's Hallmark Shop	12/31/16
Manistee Co. Business	Vacant (nomination pending)	12/31/15
Missaukee Co. Business	Tom Vine, Plant Manager, Viking Energy	12/31/16
Missaukee Co. Business	vacant	12/31/15
Wexford Co. Business	Ken Bollman, President, Sabre Tool	12/31/15
Wexford Co. Business	Leslie Nowlin, Human Resources Director, Rec Board Holdings	12/31/16
Other		
K-12 Education	Jeff Jennette, Superintendent, Wexford-Missaukee and Manistee Intermediate School Districts	12/31/15
Post-secondary Educ.	Tim Nelson, President, Northwestern Michigan College	12/31/16
Economic Development	Andy Hayes, President, Northern Lakes Economic Alliance	12/31/15
Rehabilitation	Eric Bachmann, District Manager, Michigan Rehabilitation Services	12/31/15
Labor	Bob Scheele, Vice President, Central Labor Council	12/31/15
Labor	Clint Steele, Pipefitter, UAW Local 85	12/31/15
Human Services	Patricia Simmons, Director, Emmet-Charlevoix-Antrim Dept. of Human Services	12/31/15
Community-Based Orgs.	Steve Perdue, President & CEO, Grand Traverse Industries	12/31/16
Community-Based Orgs.	John Stephenson, Executive Director, Northwest MI Community Action Agency	12/31/16
Apprenticeships	Jim Smith, Controls Designer, Tool North, Inc.	12/31/16
Corrections	Dave Pratt, Deputy Warden, Pugsley Correctional Facility	12/31/15
Mi. Workforce Devel. Agency	Kevin Benson, Agriculture Employment Services (non-voting seat)	12/31/15

Networks Northwest Board – At-Large Directors

At-large members are screened by the Executive Committee and then appointed by the full Networks Northwest Board.

Criteria used in selection process:

- As much full-region representation & perspective as possible; i.e.: businesses & organizations that cover most/all of the region
- Good geographic distribution for those who represent just one or two counties
- No "narrow agendas" big picture thinkers
- People who have shown an interest in our organization or have already participated on other levels
- People who bring a certain area of expertise (business, technology, finance, communications, community, education, etc.)
- People who understand effective board membership (preparation, open to influence of others, focus on performance & results, problem solving, network sense, collaborative, interpersonal respect, professional conduct, issue discernment, leadership attributes, knack for complexity, strategic orientation)

Initial appointments were for staggered 1, 2 or 3 year terms, and will not count toward the total number of terms/years a person is able to serve on the board. Subsequent terms will be for three years. A maximum of only 1/3 of the at-large board seats will change in any given year.

Seat	Name/Position	Initial Term Ending
Business		
Energy	Steve Rawlings, Regional Manager, DTE	12/31/16
Energy	Mike Powers, Energy Solutions Consultant, Keene Technical Solutions	12/31/15
Chambers	Bill Tencza, President of Cadillac Chamber of Commerce; Northern MI Chamber Alliance	12/31/16
Chambers	Doug Luciani, President of TC Area Chamber of Commerce; Northern MI Chamber Alliance	12/31/17
Media	Chris Warren, General Manager, Midwestern Broadcasting Co.	12/31/16
Media	Deborah Fellows, Owner, My North Media	12/31/15
Real Estate & Finance	Tom Johnson, Partner, Landmark Development	12/31/15
Real Estate/Finance	Nicole Sulak, CPA, Plante Moran	12/31/16
Other - Environ.	Mike Ascione, CEO, American Waste	12/31/17
Other - Lg. Mfg.	Joe Moch, CEO, ACAT Global	12/31/16
Other - Trades	Jamie Al-Shama, Bay Construction	12/31/15
Other - Info Tech	Beth Holmes-Bozung, Co-owner, SafetyNet, Inc.	12/31/17
Education		
Adult Ed	Mike Hill, Superintendent, TBAISD	12/31/17
Government		
City	Michael Cain, Mgr., City of Boyne City	12/31/15
City	Josh Mills , Mgr., City of Frankfort	12/31/17

Village	Vacant	12/31/15
Village	Jan Bassett, Director, DDA, Elk Rapids	12/31/16
Township	Doug Mansfield, Mi. Township Assoc.	12/31/15
Transportation		
Roads	Alan Cooper, Mgr., Road Commission	12/31/16
Roads	Vacant	12/31/17
Public Transit	Bill Kennis, Executive Director, Benzie Transportation Authority	12/31/15
Other		
Philanthropy	Marsha Smith, Exec. Director, Rotary Charities and NorthSky Non-Profit Network	12/31/17

Initial terms:

1 Year = 8

2 Years = 7

3 Years = <u>7</u>

22 seats