Skip to Main Content Easy Reading Mode: Off
Site Search

2008 NW MI Regional Non-Motorized Comprehensive Strategy

In 2008, Networks Northwest, formerly the Northwest Michigan Council of Governments, developed a regional non-motorized transportation plan and investment strategy for the 13 counties in northwest lower Michigan. The counties include: Emmet, Charlevoix, Antrim, Kalkaska, Grand Traverse, Leelanau, Benzie, Manistee, Wexford, Missaukee, Osceola, Lake, and Mason (NWMCOG's ten counties plus three). 

The Michigan Department of Transportation commissioned the plan and uses it to prioritize the funding of projects. The guiding vision of this project is to connect existing trails, offering residents and visitors more opportunities for non-motorized transportation, and to enjoy more of the region's natural resources.

The project has gathered information on existing and future trails from each county, township, city and village parks and recreation commission, planning commission and staff, and board members. Subregional meetings have taken place with trail organizations, groups, and stakeholders to review the proposed trail maps for their input. The compiled maps have been presented to the public at subregional trail summits for input and prioritization.


The Strategy

 2008 Regional Non-Motorized Transportation StrategyThe Regional Non-Motorized Transportation Plan and Strategy pertains to the 13 counties in northern, lower Michigan. 

Click on the image to download/view/print the 2008 Regional Non-Motorized Transportation Strategy.

The Maps

Proposed Routes Maps Priority Routes
Antrim County Antrim County
Benzie County Benzie County
Boyne City Boyne City
Cadillac n/a
Charlevoix County Charlevoix County
Elk Rapids n/a
Emmet County Emmet County
Grand Traverse County Grand Traverse County
Kalkaska County Kalkaska County
Lake County Lake County
Leelanau County Leelanau County
Manistee (City) Manistee (City)
Manistee County Manistee County
Mason County Mason County
Missaukee County Missaukee County
Osceola County Osceola County
Petoskey Petoskey
Traverse City Traverse City
Wexford County Wexford County
The professionals at Networks Northwest help our City Council, Planning Commission, and staff make thoughtful decisions to ensure our community is sustainable and resilient for many years to come.
- Mark Heydlauff, Charlevoix City Manager