NORTHWEST MICHIGAN COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS BOARD

Monday August 11, 2014

MEETING MINUTES

Roll Call

<u>Present:</u> Don Tanner, Benzie County; Chris Christensen, Charlevoix County (4:15 p.m.); Jim Tamlyn, Emmet County; Larry Inman, GT County; Stuart McKinnon, Kalkaska County; Melinda Lautner, Leelanau County; Richard Schmidt, Manistee County; Dean Vivian, Missaukee County; Les Housler, Wexford County; Mike Crawford, Antrim County.

Absent: None

Staff present: Elaine Wood, Matt McCauley, Darla Rowland, Becky Maddox.

Guests present: Dave Adams, WDB Chairman; Charles Judson, Attorney.

<u>Call to Order and Introductions</u>

Larry Inman, Chair, called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m. and welcomed everyone. He asked that agenda items 3 and 4 be handled in reverse order.

Public Comment

No public comment.

Workforce Development Board Appointments

E. Wood presented the recommendation that Andy Hayes, President of Northern Lakes Economic Alliance, be appointed to the Workforce Development Board as the regional representative for economic development, replacing Tino Breithaupt who has resigned. Discussion took place.

Motion by Schmidt, supported by Tamlyn, that Andy Hayes be appointed to the Workforce Development Board as the regional economic development representative, for the balance of the two-year term ending 12/31/15. Roll call vote: McKinnon, No; Schmidt, Yes; Housler, Yes; Lautner, Yes; Vivian, Yes; Tanner, Yes; Christensen, Yes; Crawford, No; Tamlyn, Yes; Inman, Yes. Motion passed 8-2.

E. Wood presented the recommendation that Bob Scheele of the Central Labor Council be appointed to the Workforce Development Board as a regional representative of labor, replacing John Toth who has resigned. Discussion took place.

Motion by Schmidt, supported by Tanner, that Bob Scheele be appointed to the Workforce Development Board as a regional representative of labor, for the balance of the two-year term ending 12/31/15. Motion passed unanimously.

E. Wood presented the recommendation that Jeff Jennette, Superintendent of Wexford-Missaukee and Manistee Intermediate School Districts, be appointed to the Workforce Development Board as the K-12 education representative, replacing Doug Parkes who will be appointed as one of Manistee County's private sector representatives. Discussion took place.

Motion by Schmidt, supported by Crawford, that Jeff Jennette be appointed to the Workforce Development Board as the regional K-12 education representative for the remainder of the two-year term ending 12/31/15. Motion passed unanimously.

Lautner asked that more information be provided about each recommended appointee. Wood agreed that a short bio can be presented for each nominee in the future.

Revised Agreement between NWMCOG Board and Workforce Development Board

E. Wood reviewed the Revised Agreement between the two boards as presented in the board packet, which contained the corrections made pursuant to the June joint board meeting. She said that she and Matt McCauley had visited 9 of the 10 county boards to answer any remaining questions they had, subsequent to the decision at the June meeting to postpone the vote so that the counties could have more time to review, discuss and have the NWMCOG staff answer questions. Leelanau County did not put this on their agenda and therefore did not allow Wood to discuss it with them. Kalkaska County Administrative Committee expressed several questions and concerns to McCauley regarding the by-laws that were passed at the June meeting, and Wood subsequently sent some information and explanations in writing to the Kalkaska County Commissioners. She indicated that based on the nine counties visited, it was clear that eight had given unanimous support to the formation of the regional prosperity board.

Lautner said that Leelanau County did not take formal action but she would not support it at this time.

McKinnon said that based on the by-laws, he will not support it unless the bylaws are changed, and indicated that the county had passed a resolution to that effect. Elaine said she did not receive the resolution. There was discussion regarding the fact that organizations tend to revise their by-laws on a fairly regularly basis; however McKinnon stated his belief that these bylaws would never be changed.

Motion by M. Crawford, supported by C. Christensen, to adopt the Revised Agreement between the NWMCOG Board and the Workforce Development Board as presented. Roll call vote: Housler, No; Lautner, No; Schmidt, Yes; Vivian, Yes; McKinnon, No; Crawford, Yes; Tamlyn, Yes; Christensen, Yes; Tanner, Yes; Inman, Yes. Motion passed 7-3.

County round-table

Commissioners informally discussed various county-related subjects.

<u>Adjourn</u>

The meeting was adjourned by consensus at 4:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

9 laine wood

Elaine Wood

Alicenter of the Sign In Sheet Council of Governments Board Michie I. Crawford, Mike Antrim County E 2. Tanner, Donald Benzie County D 3 Christenson Christen Charlevery County			
	1 .	Crawford, Mike	Antrim County
x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x	2.	Tanner, Donald	Benzie County
X	3.	Christensen, Chris	Charlevoix County
x	4.	Tamlyn, James	Emmet County
X	5.	Inman, Larry	Gr. Traverse County
X	6.	McKinnon, Stuart	Kalkaska County
X	7.	Lautner, Melinda	Leelanau County
×	8.	Schmidt, Richard	Manistee County
X	9 .	Vivian, Dean	Missaukee County
X	l 10.	Housler, Les	Wexford County

